Thursday, May 17, 2012
"You said that irony was the shackles of youth"
I honestly thought the exam went great for me. I found it to be pretty easy. I wasn't really blind-sided by any thing, as kids from last year had said that the exam is far easier than the tests that we took in class...but I was still surprised as to how simple the questions were...and man do they LOVE the Han/Romans. I felt so prepared. For the past week, I didn't feel that way, but for some reason this morning I woke up thinking "I'm so ready for this test. This test isn't ready for me. That's how ready I am." So I don't really know what happened there. I guess I can say that I didn't feel prepared until this morning, despite the fact that I've been studying since last week. I can honestly say that I think the review should stay exactly the way it is...the review games that we played made me feel super confident with what I already knew, and they showed me that I knew a lot more than I thought I knew. I also loved the edmodo project, because it forced me to dig through my head for evidence - and found evidence that I thought had been totally eradicated from my brain since being tested on the material. So that project gave me a great deal of confidence, and confidence was a huge factor in this test for me. Honestly, I feel like if you do the same sort of review next year, it'll work out great still. My only regret about this test is that I spent a huge amount of time studying for it...and when I actually took the test, I found that I would have known all the information without studying that much. It's a weird regret, but boiled down, I think I wish I was lazier this week...but hey, it worked out. The only thing I can think of to help the review process is to spend perhaps more time on 1900-present time Middle Eastern situations...I never really totally grasped the whole Afghanistan-Iraq-Iran situations (and I live under a rock so I don't really know what goes on in the world) so I was petrified that that was going to be focused on in the test based upon the practice test that we took. I never really got to it during my review because I focused heavily on the Classical-Post Classical Eras (which I'm glad about now) so I was just kinda hoping that I'd get lucky and there wouldn't be much on that whole fiasco. Thank God there was nothing on it. I don't know if there were other kids in the same boat as me, but that is the only idea I have pertaining to something that could be touched upon in review more. When I read the essay questions, I wanted to do a happy dance because we had talked about the Columbian Exchange and trade in general, but figured that would be inappropriate for a testing envrionment. Yay cricket!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment